Need help understanding new HOS rules

Need help understanding new HOS rules

Hi everyone, I’m a new driver and I’m having trouble understanding the new hours of service (HOS) rules that are supposed to go into effect soon.I read this article on New Jobs 4 You, but I still have some questions. Can anyone help me out with some examples or scenarios of how these rules would apply in real life? Here’s the link to the article: https://newjobs4you.com/blogs/electronic-log-book/understanding-hours-of-service-(hos)/

Some of the things I don’t get are:

• How the split sleeper berth works? Can I split my 10-hour break into any combination of 7 and 3 hours, or does it have to be in a certain order?
  • How the pause of the 14-hour clock works?
  • How the extension of the short-haul exemptions works?
Comments
Iqra
Iqra
how I understand it. It doesn’t matter which period you take first, the 7-hour or the 2-hour one, as long as they add up to at least 10 hours and neither period counts against your 14-hour driving window. However, you can only split them once in a day
Johnathan
Johnathan
Thanks for the factsheet, it’s very helpful. I’m still confused about the sleeper berth though. Does it matter which period I take first, the 7-hour or the 2-hour one? And can I split them more than once in a day?
Grayson
Grayson
You guys are whining too much. The new HOS rules are a good thing. They give drivers more options and control over their schedules.
Alastair Glover
Alastair Glover
I agree with you. The new HOS rules are a disaster. They don’t address the real issues that drivers face, such as low pay, poor working conditions, and lack of respect. They just add more bureaucracy and hassle.
Aidan
Aidan
The new HOS rules are a joke. They don’t do anything to improve safety or flexibility for drivers. They just make things more complicated and confusing. FMCSA should scrap them.
Daniels
Daniels